Example: “The Heavenly City” #vizpoem

This week my Visual Poetry class is sussing out what exactly makes a poem a poem. I have a fuller print explanation in my weekly recap, but I also wanted to demonstrate I’ve got skin in the game by vlogging about one of the ten poems myself. I picked Stevie Smith’s “Heavenly City,” which is on the Poetry Foundation’s website so I know it must be a poem. Also it was written by somebody who was a poet, so there’s that. But neither of those explanations ought to be satisfactory for us, so here I try to give you some ideas of how the text can be linked (mentally!) to images that help convey the connections you’re making to the broader world.

Leave a Reply

